Logging Tickets

To log a ticket in Revelation helpdesk

Click on the Log a Ticket button in the masthead area at the top of the page. (It's the second button in the nav.) This will bring up the New Ticket box:

  

If the pop-up is in your way, put your mouse in the header of the box and a double arrow will appear. You can then drag the window anywhere on your screen.


NOTE: If Associated Contacts is active, there will be a secondary dropdown under the End User. From here, you will be able to select additional contacts from the client to add to the ticket.

 

To increase the size of the Log a Ticket window, drag the corner to resize it. This will increase the text boxes in both the Description and Action Note fields.

NOTE: Revelation will re-size all ticket fields automatically to fit the resolution of your window.

 

 Note: The Log a Ticket interface will follow the main Navigational color scheme. Administrators can change this in the System Options menu.  


Any field outlined in red is a required field.

  • End User*
  • Project
  • Description

*If Client/End User Dropdowns is enabled in the Admin Area, the Client Name is required rather than the End User.

 

Log a New Ticket - options collapsed Log a New Ticket - options open
 

 

NOTE: If Automatic Spell Checking is enabled, the Spelling button will not be visible.

 

Simply begin typing the name in the End User field on Log a Ticket and a list of matches from the database will appear. Select the appropriate match, and Revelation will auto-populate the information in the ticket.

 

 

If Associated Contacts is active, there will be a secondary drop down where you will have the option to select additional users to add to the ticket.

 


 

To ensure the data is complete, the following information is needed:

New Ticket - Parent/Child

If the ticket is to be a Parent ticket, or the Child to an existing Parent ticket, navigate to the Parent/Child tab on the lefthand menu and click the appropriate checkbox.



Client Type Filter

Select the Filter icon next to the End User selection field.


Select the Client Type from the drop-down menu. Multiple items can be selected and unselected.

End User (REQUIRED)

Allows ticket creator to type in the End User's name and select from the drop-down menu. Information specific to the End User will populate within the ticket once the End User is selected.

Associated Contacts Provides the ability to select additional End Users from the drop down. These users will also get the email notifications the primary End User receives, and will be able to see the tickets they are associated with on their Self Service Interface page.
Client If the End User is not the initial drop down, select the appropriate client from the pull down. You will be able to type any portion of the client name in the client box, and a list of clients matching that text will appear in the drop down
Project (REQUIRED)

The Primary project related to the End User's organization will auto-populate the field. All other relevant projects are available via the drop-down menu. If the client has only one project, it will auto-populate the field.

  • If the project has time credits against it, the remaining time on the project will be indicated beneath the drop-down selection field. If the project is over its time allotment, the remaining time will appear in red.
SLA Beneath the Timeline heading. If Service Level Management is active, Multiple SLAs can be assigned to the project: the default SLA will be visible, and other options will be in the drop down. If not active, only the default SLA will be available.
Assigned To

By default, the ticket is automatically assigned to the person logging the ticket. This will show as the ticket creator's name in the field, but appears as <Me> in the drop-down menu once selected.

If the ticket is being assigned to someone other than the person logging the ticket, select the appropriate individual or group from the menu. If the ticket needs to be assigned to more than one individual or group, click all relevant assignees, and they will populate accordingly in the field.

Priority Beneath the Timeline heading. "Priority" refers to the response time for responding to the ticket. This is set in the Admin area and can be part of a Priority Set specific to the client and/or project.
Type/Sub Type

A ticket type and sub type are required prior to closing a ticket.

 

Note: If Ticket Types and Sub Types are disabled in the Admin area, this will not be visible.

Status Based on the Ticket Status set up on the Admin Tab under Ticket Settings-Status.
Due

Beneath the Timeline heading. If an SLA is selected, the Due Date will automatically update. If you need to change the date, type in the new date or use the calendar down. If the time needs to be changed, click on the clock and choose the closest hour on the time picker drop down; you can adjust the minutes if needed by highlighting the zeros after the colon and type in the appropriate minutes.

 

Calendar

Clock

Timeline Beneath the Timeline heading. Gives a visual status of the milestones for a ticket based on the Service Level (SLA) assigned for the project, or if a manual due date is added.
Description (REQUIRED)

Fill in with a brief description of the issue (Quote request for block of time, Client called, staff cannot see server). If a website needs to be included, type in the URL and it will automatically hyperlink to the site.

 

NOTE: There is a limit of 2,000 characters for the Ticket Description area.

 

NOTE: You can link to an existing ticket by including the ticket number, surrounded by double brackets. (i.e. [[123456]] will link to ticket 123456)

Add Initial Action

Beneath the Add Action heading. Initial Ticket Action is a more detailed description of the problem and any initial diagnostics. Each action can have billable or non-billable time associated with the action, if this option is turned on. Default billable time is set to your company standard via Default Billable Time by Team in the Admin tab under Ticket Settings-Configuration-Action Note Configuration.

 

NOTE: There is a limit of 1,000 characters for the Initial Action area

 

NOTE: If you have Service Level Management activated, adding notes to the Initial Ticket Action field meets the Respond by date and time. If your help desk isn't supposed to alter Respond By times, this section MUST remain blank and be filled in by a technician to meet SLA requirements. If you don't use SLAs, the project has no SLA associated or you do not have the SLA module, this is not a factor and the fields are not required.

Core users do not have this feature available.

 

NOTE: You can link to an existing ticket by including the ticket number, surrounded by double brackets. (i.e. [[123456]] will link to ticket 123456.)

Author In Add Action toolbar. <Me> is the default - this is the person logging the ticket. Different Authors can be selected from the drop down if you are logging the ticket for another end user.
Quick Note

In Add Action toolbar. Prewritten action notes available to Admins or Super Admins. If you are not authorized to add a Quick Note, this will not be visible.

 

If a Quick Note is not available, and you are authorized to add one, click on the + button to the right of the drop down to add a new Quick Note.

Date/Time In Add Action toolbar. Date and time the ticket is logged. Can be altered if needed, and if activated in Admin area.
Role In Add Action toolbar. The default role for the user logging a ticket will appear in the drop-down menu. If the user has more than one role or if the Author is changed, the appropriate role can be selected from the drop-down.
Billable/Non-Billable Time "Real" time is used in Revelation rather than decimal time; therefore 1:30 is 1 hour 30 minutes, not 1 hour 18 minutes. However, time can be entered in either format. If 1.5 is entered, it will revert to 1:30.
Private If checked, the information in the Action Note will not be visible to the client either on the Self Service Interface or when sent a report.
Log Options Drop Down Select the option or options from the drop down. If this is how you wish to have your tickets log all the time, click on Set as default
  • View Details - Opens the ticket in the browser window
  • Pin to Dock - Ticket will be pinned to the docked list on your home page
  • Close Ticket - If the ticket is complete and ready to be closed.
  • Log Another (blank) - Begins a new ticket
  • Duplicate - Duplicates the ticket information/settings

Once all the necessary information is completed for logging a ticket, click on Log at the bottom right of the screen. This will keep the ticket in an opened status unless otherwise specified. If the ticket is assigned to you or a group you are a member of, the ticket will appear on your home page.